EDITORIAL

CHANGE MEANS DISRUPTION

BDO looks back on a successful fiscal year. We, like our sector peers, face challenges from the dynamic pace of change.


The 2017 reporting period went well for BDO. It was a year of rising revenue and growth in the advisory business. It’s encouraging to see that all of our service lines and product groups once again contributed to the positive results. Particularly noteworthy is the excellent development in Advisory, which was instrumental in strengthening the BDO brand through numerous one-off projects, innovative complementary services, and major acquisition activities. Our business success is all the more impressive in light of the tough economic environment, including a strong franc that burdened exports or the chaos around Corporate Tax Reform III.

For us personally, the highlight of 2017 was our move to new premises in Zurich where we occupy what was once the shipbuilding boiler workshop of Escher Wyss AG. BDO has responded to the growth of recent years and is preparing for the future by bringing together four locations under one roof at our new headquarters.

Our industry faces major challenges at present, and BDO is no exception in facing a Bermuda Triangle of compliance expenses, digitisation costs, and a trend towards falling prices. All service providers, including banks and insurers, are likewise affected. Increasingly dense regulation absorbs enormous financial and human resources. Done well, however, regulatory compliance also boosts quality.

BDO is embracing digitisation. For example, our digital portal for start-ups ‘HelloNina’ enables automated processing of client requests using bots. We also use data and process analysis tools for large audits, while bots also help with certain tasks in limited statutory examinations. Using technology in this way frees up capacity so that specialists across different disciplines can work together to deal with complex questions. We believe that personal contact with clients and tailored advice will continue to grow in importance. The dynamic environment – with its unrelenting cost pressure and rapid pace of change – is forcing companies to seek new growth opportunities, also across borders. Thanks to our global network spanning 162 countries, BDO is the ideal partner for questions that can arise in this context.

As digitisation permeates every aspect of the working world, calls for data protection are getting louder. Switzerland and the EU are revising their data protection laws, triggering far-reaching questions for many companies. Organisations should begin now to analyse what the new requirements mean for them and to adapt their internal processes and documentation to the new legislation.

Change means disruption – and new success stories if tackled appropriately. Or, in the words of the English naturalist Charles Darwin: "It is not the strongest of the species that survives, nor the most intelligent. It is the one that is most adaptable to change." On that note, let us hope that all of us have the courage and vision to master the challenges that lie ahead.

 

Werner Schiesser
CEO

Rudolf Vogt
Chairman of the Board of Directors

backtop

ÉDITORIAL

LE CHANGEMENT EST SYNONYME DE NOUVEAU DÉPART

BDO a réalisé un très bon exercice. Comme dans l'ensemble de la branche, la dynamique du changement nous oblige nous aussi à nous adapter.

 

L’exercice 2017 a été une bonne année pour BDO. Nous enregistrons un chiffre d’affaires en hausse continue et une croissance dans le conseil. Il est réjouissant que toutes les lignes produits et tous les groupes produits aient une nouvelle fois contribué à cette croissance. Il convient notamment de souligner le développement positif au sein du conseil d’entreprises. Ce domaine contribue notamment à renforcer la marque BDO par ses nombreux projets uniques, ses prestations complémentaires et innovantes et ses activités importantes d’acquisition. Au vu de l’environnement économique exigeant, comme par exemple le cours du franc qui a un effet négatif sur les exportations ou le chantier de la réforme de l’imposition des entreprises III, il faut apprécier d’autant plus le succès de l’entreprise.

Notre meilleur moment en 2017 a été l’emménagement de BDO à Zurich dans le Zürcher Schiffbau, ancien chaudronnier de Escher Wyss SA. En regroupant les quatre sites sur le nouveau siège principal, BDO réagit à la croissance des dernières années et se prépare à l’avenir.

Les défis actuels posés à notre branche et donc à BDO sont importants. Le «triangle des Bermudes» des frais pour la réglementation, des frais pour la numérisation et la tendance des prix à la baisse ne concerne pas seulement BDO mais tous les prestataires de services, tels que les banques et les assurances. La densité de la réglementation implique une charge de travail supplémentaire énorme. Si elle est bien appliquée, elle contribue toutefois aussi à améliorer la qualité.

BDO répond à la numérisation avec son portail numérique «HelloNina» destiné aux start-ups, avec un traitement automatique des demandes de clients à l’aide de bots, avec des outils d’analyse de données et de processus pour les grandes révisions et l’utilisation de bots dans le contrôle restreint. Cela crée des capacités supplémentaires pour aborder les questions complexes pour lesquelles il faut coordonner des spécialistes de différents domaines. Nous sommes persuadés que l’importance du rapport personnel et du conseil des clients continuera à gagner en importance. L’environnement dynamique caractérisé par une pression permanente sur les coûts et des changements rapides oblige les entreprises à croître, également à l’étranger. A cet égard également, BDO est un partenaire solide avec son réseau mondial dans 162 pays.

Plus le travail est numérique, plus la protection des données devient importante. La Suisse et l’UE sont en train de réviser leurs lois sur la protection des données, avec des effets importants pour de nombreuses entreprises. Ces dernières doivent se pencher suffisamment tôt sur les nouvelles exigences et adapter, le cas échéant, les processus et documentations internes à la nouvelle législation.

Le changement est synonyme de nouveau départ et ouvre la voie à de nouveaux succès, si l’on est bien préparé. Ou selon les mots du naturaliste Charles Darwin: «Les espèces qui survivent ne sont pas les espèces les plus fortes, ni les plus intelligentes, mais celles qui s'adaptent le mieux aux changements.» Dans ce sens, nous nous souhaitons mutuellement du courage et de la clairvoyance pour relever les défis à venir.

 

Werner Schiesser
CEO

Rudolf Vogt
président du Conseil d’administration

backtop