insights

BLOCKCHAIN – Digitising processes, boosting efficiency

Blockchain and Bitcoin are often mentioned in one breath. But blockchain has so much more to offer as a technology. Blockchain-based applications are ideal for optimising business processes and strengthening security.

What is a blockchain?

Put simply, a blockchain is a shared database that is particularly well suited for data processing, for instance in transactions involving multiple parties. Data is protected from manipulation or loss because it’s distributed across a network of computers – known as ‘nodes’ – in a decentralised structure.

These nodes validate transactions in blockchains by consensus, with the network as a whole validating each transaction using special algorithms and a blockchain protocol. Information about each transaction is validated by the nodes. As soon as a majority of nodes has confirmed the accuracy of a transaction, it is encrypted to ensure confidentiality. The transaction is then «chained» to other validated and encrypted transactions in a new ‘block.

One important aspect in encrypting the transaction is the hash, a kind of ‘digital fingerprint. The hash enables verification of whether a transaction in the blockchain has been registered, without revealing details of the transaction’s participants to third parties. The original transaction details are needed to check whether a transaction has been validated. As soon as it has been validated, the transaction between the parties is executed. And since it’s saved on multiple nodes, it’s tamper proof.

Public blockchain

One general factor distinguishing types of blockchain is the access rules for transactions within the blockchain, i.e. whether it’s a private or public system.

In public blockchains, there are no restrictions on data being read and transactions created within the network. Anyone can take part in a public blockchain, validate transactions and add transaction blocks through consensus with the network.

Private blockchain

In contrast to public blockchains, membership in private blockchains is by invitation only. New members have to be validated by a network administrator or a number of rules. This means that only pre-defined participants can read data or process transactions. 

Essentially then, this type of setup is a shared database for a defined user group. Although private blockchains share similarities with traditional decentralised databases, they also use the advantages of blockchain technology; no central institution is needed to safeguard data security and reliability.

Bitcoin and Ethereum

The most famous example of a public blockchain is Bitcoin. Now a global phenomenon, the payment network enables peer-to-peer transactions without the involvement of an intermediary financial institution. Then there’s Ethereum, a platform for smart contracts. Predefined actions are triggered as soon as the conditions agreed in smart contracts are met. Applications that operate on these blockchains can be used to transfer digital – but also physical – assets. Blockchain can thus help ensure fraud-proof transactions in areas such as bond trading, mortgages and ticket sales, but also transfers of assets such as precious wines, certificates, artwork or diamonds.

More efficient business processes  

Implementing blockchain technology will enable more efficient, more secure business processes.

BDO’s Blockchain Initiative has prepared a series of articles that explain how blockchain can be used and explore the opportunities and risks it presents.

Want to know more?

backtop

Publications

BLOCKCHAIN – la Numérisation de processus augmente l’efficacité

La blockchain est souvent associée au bitcoin. Cependant, la technologie blockchain a bien plus à offrir. Les applications basées sur la blockchain permettent d’améliorer les processus de l’entreprise et d’augmenter la sécurité.

Qu’est-ce que la blockchain?

La blockchain est, de manière simplifiée, une base de données commune permettant notamment le traitement des données, telles que des transactions entre des parties. La structure répartie et décentralisée de la base de données évite la manipulation ou la perte des données.

Les blockchains se basent sur un réseau d’ordinateurs, appelés «nodes», qui valident conjointement des transactions. Le réseau valide chaque transaction à l’aide d’algorithmes spéciaux et d’un protocole blockchain. Les informations des transactions individuelles sont ainsi validées par les «nodes». Dès que la majorité de ces «nodes» estime que la transaction est correcte, cette dernière est cryptée afin de garantir la confidentialité. Ensuite, la transaction est résumée dans un nouveau bloc avec d’autres transactions validées et cryptées.

Un aspect important du cryptage des transactions est l’établissement d’une «empreinte numérique», la valeur de hachage. Les propriétés de la valeur de hachage permettent de vérifier si une transaction est enregistrée dans la blockchain sans qu’un tiers puisse identifier les personnes impliquées dans cette transaction. Seule la personne disposant des données de transaction initiales peut vérifier si sa transaction a été validée. Dès que la transaction a été validée, elle sera déclenchée entre les parties. L’enregistrement sur un grand nombre de «nodes» rend la transaction infalsifiable.

Blockchain publique

Une différence essentielle par rapport à la technologie blockchain repose dans l’autorisation d’accès aux transactions au sein de la blockchain. On différencie blockchain publique et privée.

Les blockchains publiques permettent la lecture des données au sein de la blockchain et l’établissement de transactions sans restrictions. Tout le monde peut participer à une blockchain publique et valider des transactions ainsi qu’ajouter des blocs de transactions avec l’accord du réseau.

Blockchain privée

Contrairement à la blockchain publique, la blockchain privée requiert une invitation. Celle-ci doit être validée en général par l’administrateur du réseau ou par une série de règles. Ainsi, la lecture de données et le traitement de transactions sont limités à des participants définis dans la blockchain privée.

Les blockchains privées sont des bases de données utilisées conjointement par un groupe d’utilisateurs défini. Bien que les blockchains privées ressemblent d’une certaine manière à la traditionnelle base de données décentralisée, elles utilisent les avantages de la technologie blockchain. Elles ne nécessitent pas d’institution centrale pour garantir la sécurité et la fiabilité des données.

Bitcoin et Ethereum

L’exemple le plus connu de la blockchain publique est le bitcoin, le réseau de paiement utilisé dans le monde entier et permettant d’effectuer des transactions peer-to-peer sans avoir besoin d’un établissement financier comme intermédiaire. Après le bitcoin, il y a eu Ethereum, une plate-forme permettant de conclure automatiquement des Smart Contracts, c’est-à-dire des contrats. Ces Smart Contracts déclenchent des actions définies dès que certaines conditions fixées dans les règles commerciales sont remplies. Les applications qui fonctionnent sur ces blockchains peuvent être utilisées pour transmettre des actifs numériques ou des actifs physiques. Ainsi, la blockchain peut aider à effectuer par exemple des opérations d’emprunt liées au commerce, des hypothèques, des ventes de tickets, mais également à transmettre des objets de valeur, comme des vins de valeur, des certificats, des œuvres d’art ou des diamants, sans risque de falsification.

Processus commerciaux plus efficaces  

L’introduction de blockchains permet d’organiser les processus commerciaux de manière plus efficace et d’augmenter la sécurité.

L’initiative blockchain de BDO vous montre, à l’aide d'une série d’articles, la manière dont la technologie blockchain est utilisée ainsi que les chances et risques qui y sont associés.

Vous trouverez ici des informations complémentaires à ce sujet.

backtop