EDITORIAL

CHANGE MEANS DISRUPTION

BDO looks back on a successful fiscal year. We, like our sector peers, face challenges from the dynamic pace of change.


The 2017 reporting period went well for BDO. It was a year of rising revenue and growth in the advisory business. It’s encouraging to see that all of our service lines and product groups once again contributed to the positive results. Particularly noteworthy is the excellent development in Advisory, which was instrumental in strengthening the BDO brand through numerous one-off projects, innovative complementary services, and major acquisition activities. Our business success is all the more impressive in light of the tough economic environment, including a strong franc that burdened exports or the chaos around Corporate Tax Reform III.

For us personally, the highlight of 2017 was our move to new premises in Zurich where we occupy what was once the shipbuilding boiler workshop of Escher Wyss AG. BDO has responded to the growth of recent years and is preparing for the future by bringing together four locations under one roof at our new headquarters.

Our industry faces major challenges at present, and BDO is no exception in facing a Bermuda Triangle of compliance expenses, digitisation costs, and a trend towards falling prices. All service providers, including banks and insurers, are likewise affected. Increasingly dense regulation absorbs enormous financial and human resources. Done well, however, regulatory compliance also boosts quality.

BDO is embracing digitisation. For example, our digital portal for start-ups ‘HelloNina’ enables automated processing of client requests using bots. We also use data and process analysis tools for large audits, while bots also help with certain tasks in limited statutory examinations. Using technology in this way frees up capacity so that specialists across different disciplines can work together to deal with complex questions. We believe that personal contact with clients and tailored advice will continue to grow in importance. The dynamic environment – with its unrelenting cost pressure and rapid pace of change – is forcing companies to seek new growth opportunities, also across borders. Thanks to our global network spanning 162 countries, BDO is the ideal partner for questions that can arise in this context.

As digitisation permeates every aspect of the working world, calls for data protection are getting louder. Switzerland and the EU are revising their data protection laws, triggering far-reaching questions for many companies. Organisations should begin now to analyse what the new requirements mean for them and to adapt their internal processes and documentation to the new legislation.

Change means disruption – and new success stories if tackled appropriately. Or, in the words of the English naturalist Charles Darwin: "It is not the strongest of the species that survives, nor the most intelligent. It is the one that is most adaptable to change." On that note, let us hope that all of us have the courage and vision to master the challenges that lie ahead.

 

Werner Schiesser
CEO

Rudolf Vogt
Chairman of the Board of Directors

backtop

EDITORIAL

WANDEL HEISST AUFBRUCH

BDO blickt auf ein erfolgreiches Geschäftsjahr zurück. Wie die gesamte Branche sind wir gefordert durch die Dynamik des Wandels.

 

Das Berichtsjahr 2017 war für BDO ein gutes Jahr. Wir dürfen auf einen steigenden Umsatz und auf ein Wachstum in der Beratung zurückblicken. Erfreulich ist, dass ein weiteres Mal alle unsere Produktbereiche und -gruppen zum Wachstum beigetragen haben. Besonders hervorzuheben ist die positive Entwicklung innerhalb der Unternehmensberatung. Dieser Bereich trägt mit seinen vielen Einmalprojekten, ergänzenden und innovativen Dienstleistungen und den grossen Akquise-Aktivitäten besonders zur Stärkung des BDO Brands bei. Mit Blick auf das anspruchsvolle wirtschaftliche Umfeld – wie beispielsweise den exporthemmenden Frankenkurs oder die Baustelle zur Unternehmenssteuerreform III – gilt es den unternehmerischen Erfolg noch stärker wertzuschätzen.

Unser persönliches Highlight 2017 war der Bezug des Zürcher Schiffbaus, in die ehemalige Kesselschmiede der Escher Wyss AG. Mit dem Zusammenlegen von vier Standorten an den neuen Hauptsitz hat BDO auf das Wachstum der letzten Jahre reagiert und sich für die Zukunft gerüstet.

Die gegenwärtigen Herausforderungen für unsere Branche und somit auch für BDO sind gross. Das «Bermuda-Dreieck» von Kosten für die Regulierung, Kosten für die Digitalisierung und tendenziell sinkenden Preisen betrifft nicht nur BDO, sondern alle Dienstleistungsanbieter wie z.B. auch Banken und Versicherungen. Die dichtere Regulierung bedeutet einen enormen Mehraufwand. Sie trägt aber, richtig eingesetzt, auch zur Qualitätsverbesserung bei.

BDO begegnet der Digitalisierung u.a. mit dem digitalen Portal «HelloNina» für Startups, mit automatisierter Behandlung von Kundenanfragen mittels sogenannter BOTs, dem Einsatz von Daten-und Prozessanalyse-Tools bei grossen Revisionen und dem Einsatz von BOTs in der eingeschränkten Revision. Das setzt Kapazitäten frei für die Bewältigung komplexer Fragestellungen, bei denen Spezialisten aus verschiedenen Gebieten koordiniert werden. Wir sind überzeugt, dass die Bedeutung der persönlichen Beziehung und der Beratung der Kunden weiter zunehmen wird. Das dynamisierte Umfeld mit permanentem Kostendruck und raschen Veränderungen zwingt die Unternehmen zu Wachstum – auch im Ausland. BDO ist auch für diese Fragestellungen mit einem weltweiten Netzwerk in 162 Ländern ein starker Partner.

Je digitaler wir arbeiten, desto grösser wird der Ruf nach Datenschutz. Die Schweiz und die EU revidieren ihre Datenschutzgesetze – mit weitreichenden Folgen für viele Unternehmen. Diese sollten sich deshalb frühzeitig mit den neuen Anforderungen auseinandersetzen und gegebenenfalls die internen Abläufe und die Dokumentationen auf die neue Gesetzgebung abstimmen.

Wandel heisst Aufbruch und führt richtig angepackt zu neuen Erfolgen. Oder in den Worten des englischen Naturforschers Charles Darwin: «Es ist nicht die stärkste Spezie die überlebt, auch nicht die intelligenteste, es ist diejenige, die sich am ehesten dem Wandel anpassen kann.» In diesem Sinne wünschen wir Ihnen und uns allen Mut und Weitsicht für die bevorstehenden Herausforderungen

Werner Schiesser
CEO

Rudolf Vogt
Verwaltungsratspräsident

backtop